A topnotch WordPress.com site

Recharged

In the name of God, The Most Beneficent, The Most Merciful.

I didn’t intend for there to be such an extensive passing of time between this post and the one that preceded it. If you’re one of the two people who often check this blog, I apologize, but I have been away from a charger for a great while. Also, I have had a lot to think about.

Thankfully, I have encountered much here in The Holy Land- from an interfaith delegation, to the month of Ramadan, to the beginning of my first college semester. I will try to relate the experiences as best I can, but to do so I must first recall them. There is a lot to process in Palestine. Some of the best people being oppressed by one of the worst occupations. It’s emotionally exhausting to be a witness. Even more tiring to try to think about a method of advocation, or a legitimate solution. Though who would I be if I didn’t at least try?

The politicians act as though they don’t care, so it must be the people who make the effort. I don’t know much about law, but I know about love. I would be disobeying any morality I claim to have if I stayed silent. The things I’ve seen, the stories I’ve heard, have all come to me with a trust. A promise that they will be shared. And so, I will write. I will tell you about my experiences so that you too can partake in them vicariously. I will mention life as it is- both the good, and the bad, the tremendous, and the trivial. In all honesty, The Hold Land is simply something you have to feel with your own heart. No matter how many adjectives I use in an elaboration, I cannot explain the experiences with justice. Though I repeat, who would I be if I didn’t at least try? I will attempt to transform my thoughts and feelings into words that are fathomable. I have a fresh battery, and have taken time to process a new perspective. Now, I am ready to relate… as in more than one way, I have been recharged.

“If you see something wrong, try to change it with your hand. If you cannot, speak out against it. And if you cannot, then at the very least feel that in your heart…” -Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him)

(<3>-) hakawati4humanity.

Comments on: "Recharged" (4)

  1. Love this so much Malak. Excellent. Thumbs up! I love your writing.

    • Alhumdulilah, I love that you love my writing, Mama! Wish you were here with me. You’re the best, thanks for this opportunity! I have to tell you about my book idea, inshAllah. ❤

Leave a comment